City Council

Council Overview

The City of Aurora, Missouri is a third class city that operates under the Council - Manager form of government.

The City Council is comprised of five members; the five City Council Members are elected at-large. All Council Members serve three-year terms. All elections are on a non-partisan basis. The Council appoints the City Manager, City Clerk and the City Treasurer. The Mayor presides over the Council meetings and has full voting privileges. 

Each year after the election, the Council conducts a "reorganization" in which the five council members select a mayor and mayor pro tem to serve for the next year. 

Council meets on the second and fourth Tuesday’s of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Aurora City Hall located at 2 W Pleasant Street; Council Chambers is located on the third floor of City Hall.

City Council Members 2023 in Council Chambers behind dias
Front Row, Left to Right:
Dawn Oplinger, Theresa Pettit, Tony Kennedy
Back Row, Left to Right:
Mayor Jason Lewis, Josh Blades


Where: Aurora City Hall
            Council Chambers, 3rd Floor
             2 W. Pleasant Street
             Aurora, MO 65605

When: 6:00 p.m.
            2nd and 4th Tuesdays of every month

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Contact Us

City Council

Physical Address:
2 W. Pleasant Street
Aurora, MO 65605

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 30
Aurora, MO 65605-1596

Phone: (417) 678-5121 Fax: (417) 678-6599

City Hall Hours
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday